City Websites
Goals & Mission
Hot Topics*
Procedures Manual
Professional Development
Records Management
Special Recognition
Website Contacts


Are you looking for a way to become more involved in OAMR, to meet new friends, network with peers, and share your ideas?  All of these opportunities await you as an OAMR committee member.  Sign-up sheets will be available at the annual conference in September.  However, if you are unable to attend the conference, or just want to get a head start, contact the Committee Chair Person at the links provided below.  Not all committees require your attendance at meetings - many times our communications are done by e-mail, fax, or telephone.  So even if you can't travel to the meetings, go ahead - get involved.  We need your input! Thank you for making OAMR so successful!!!

Audit Committee  Purpose: to conduct the bi-annual audit of the financial records of OAMR. Chair: Betty Langwell, MMC, City of Albany

Bylaw Committee  Purpose: To review the OAMR bylaws and prepare proposed changes to be reviewed and approved by the membership. Chair: Amber Ames, CMC, Hillsboro

City Recorder's Procedure Manual Committee Purpose: to review and update the procedure manual created by OAMR and used as a guide by OAMR members and other City Recorders. Chair: Jane McGarvin, MMC, Lake Oswego 

Conference Committee Purpose: To coordinate the annual conference. Subcommittees include Facility, Registration, Sponsors, Vendors, Speakers/Entertainment, Handbook, Hospitality, Special Events, and Finance. Chair: Stacie Cook, CMC, Mill City.

Conference Planning Manual Chair: Julie Krueger, MMC, The Dalles

Education Committee Purpose: to encourage and support the OAMR membership by providing educational opportunities . Chair: Peggy Hawker, MMC, Newport

Historical Preservation Committee  Purpose: To preserve the history of the Oregon Association of Municipal Recorders. Chair: Debra Manning, CMC, Dundee

Internet Committee Purpose: To maintain fresh and relevant information regarding the distinct heritage of our profession through a well-designed, user friendly, and updated website. Chair: Deanna Casey, MMC, Central Point

Legislative Committee Purpose: To stimulate interest and activity in legislation affecting municipal government and to study proposed legislation and report to the OAMR Executive Board and membership. The committee maintains a close working relationship with the League of Oregon Cities to receive committee training and monitor legislation that affects jurisdictions and the profession of municipal recorder. Appointment to the Legislative Committee is a two year appointment. Chair: Carol Krager, City of Tigard

Membership Committee Purpose: To encourage membership in the Association. Chair: Kim Scheafer, CMC, Canby

Mentoring and Leadership Development Committee Purpose: To encourage professional growth and development of new City Recorders through the OAMR Mentoring Program and to provide guidance and support to potential candidates for the OAMR Board of Directors through the OAMR Leadership Development Program. Chair: Debby Roth, CMC, Cornelius

Newsletter Committee  Purpose: To produce and distribute four issues of the OAMR Newsletter per year. Chair, Susan Reeves, CMC, Scappoose.

Deadline for submission of articles for:

  • Fall Edition - October 10, 2011

  • Winter Edition - December 16, 2011

  • Spring Edition - March 9, 2011

  • Summer Edition - June 15, 2012

Nominating Committee Purpose: To provide the membership with a slate of candidates at the annual meeting. Chair: Julie Krueger, MMC, The Dalles.

NCI Education:

Peggy Hawker, MMC, Newport
Ruth Post, MMC, Philomath
Tracy Davis, MMC, Keizer

Professional Growth & Development Committee Purpose: To promote the professional image of the City Recorder through continuing education and to coordinate certification programs with the Northwest Municipal Clerks institute to develop Professional Development I, II, and II goals and educational requirements. In addition this committee will help educate local government officials and the public on the importance of the office of City Recorder. The committee is also charged with coordinating the OAMR booth at the Annual LOC conference.  Chair: Ruth Post, MMC, Philomath

Records Management Committee Purpose: To provide training on Records Management and Retention Schedules. Chair: Pat Duval, CMC/CRM, City of Milwaukie

Retired Clerks Committee Purpose: To develop opportunities for retired recorders who wish to continue with some level of activity in the organization and the profession. Chair: Gail Waibel, MMC, Retired (Hillsboro)

Scholarship Committee  Purpose: To administer financial aid, in the form of scholarships, to OAMR members who otherwise would not be able to take advantage of educational opportunities. Chair: Debbie Werner, CMC, Hillsboro

Special Projects Committee Purpose: To coordinate special projects to raise money for various purposes including education and scholarships and to help with the success of the annual conference in regard to door prizes and freebies. Chair: Norma Alley, MMC, Newberg

If you are interested in joining a Committee please contact the Chair Person for that Committee.  Please provide the following information with your request:

  • Name
  • Jurisdiction
  • Committee Interested In
  • Mailing Address
  • Telephone
  • Fax
  • E-Mail Address

2011/12 List of Committee Members




Last modified:  Monday, November 14, 2011